Purest of Milk

Image

I was a month or so postpartum with our third son and fourth precious child.  I was up three to four times a night nursing him on top of nursing every two and a half to three hours during the day.  Good grief, how often does this little guy need to eat?  In those early weeks I seriously felt like all I did was nurse him, burp him, change him, nap, repeat…  Now granted, it was like that with every newborn baby, but somehow I forgot so quickly.  As they grow, I adjust their feeding schedules and push their feedings out to make it more “comfortable” for me and my schedule.

One morning after his early feeding I came across this verse in my 1 Peter study.

“Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation—if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good.”
(1 Peter 2:2-3 ESV)

Oh how this resonated with me, especially at this VERY moment when all I seemed to be doing these days was quenching my newborns thirst for milk, and VERY frequently might I add.  I could hardly get in another chore, responsibility, or project let alone eat a meal myself before It was time to feed him again.

In this verse God is telling us that WE should be longing for the pure spiritual milk (Gods Word, verses, scripture) as a newborn longs for his Mothers milk that we may grow!

So, there I sat convicted.  How could I think that I was doing “enough” by just reading a few verses in the morning.  What I was truly doing was STARVING!  My newborn was getting milk about 8-9 times in a twenty four hour period.  I was MAYBE eating the “pure spiritual milk” once a day…at most!  Now let me just say, I know and you know that there are weeks, even MONTHS that we go with out the word.  Heart breaking.  Would you EVER let your newborn go without milk like that?  God doesn’t want His child to go with out either.

So where does that put us?  Do we push out our “feedings” of the purest of milk or limit them because it keeps us comfortable & gives us more time for other things?  It is stunting our growth in Christ if we are.  We truly should be eating  His Bread and drinking from the Living Waters as often as we can.  Think, pray, meditate….and chew!  Be nourished & quenched spiritually.

When a Mother nurses her babe, those intimate moments together create such an incredible bond.  Have you tasted the pure spiritual milk of Christ?  Do you LONG for the purest of milk?  Have you bonded to our Lord like a Mother with her newborn? That ache of emptiness and that cry can only be filled by our King.  I beg you to taste…that the Lord is GOOD!

Janell

4 thoughts on “Purest of Milk

  1. This does really put things in perspective. I think the Lord will understand, though, if you’ve got your hands full for now! ; ) There is a lovely poem about this, “The Bell Rings” by Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle.

  2. Awesome and convicting post, Janell! I love how the Lord meets us right in the everyday, mundane moments of life to teach and grow us!!

Leave a Reply

