“Mom, he hit me!!”  The phone rings and I let it go to voicemail.  As I finish changing the two youngest ones diapers I’m thinking about how I need to get the baby a bottle and also prep lunch.  I then head toward the older boys room to find out what is going on.  I walk down the hall and find myself wading through a huge puddle of water from an abandoned Sippy cup, my socks are soaked… the baby cries.  I stop defeated and ready to hold up my surrender flag.  It seems like all I can think about is how badly I desire for it to be peaceful.  I just want peace!  I want to be untroubled & content.  I want to be free from distractions and annoyances.   I want there to be no noise or quarreling, just peace.  I would give anything for just five minutes to myself to sit down with my feet up (in dry socks might I add), sip on my coffee and enjoy a book without any noise.  Don’t I DESERVE that!?

I walk into the boys room as I raise my voice “how many times have I told you not to hit your brother!?!!?”  UGH!  And there you have it folks…the ugly truth, the way I dealt with the kids just revealed exactly where my worship was.  At that very moment I was idolizing and worshipping the “peace & quiet” that I longed for and I definitely wasn’t trying to be a peacemaker (Matt 5:9) or even show the love of Christ to my children. (1 John 4:7-8)

It is in times like these that God is so gracious to reveal to me and convict me of these fleshly idols that I have put before Him…my King.   Exodus 20:3 says “You shall have no other gods before me.”  As a Christian, our worship of the one true God is the only acceptable belief and practice, anything other is sin.  Here I am with my idols of peace, rest, coffee, dry socks and leisure activity thinking that I deserve them and I want them more than anything.  I was even willing to break fellowship with my children over it…with my God.  My heart hurts.

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. (Romans 8: 5-6 ESV)

 During my quiet time the Lord brought me this verse in Romans.  Now obviously I was setting my mind on (or worshipping in my case) the earthly things that I thought would bring me joy and pleasure.  They may have been in the form of peace, coffee and dry socks for this stay at home Mama but they were STILL the things of the flesh that I was idolizing.  According to Romans, that way of thinking only leads to death but here is the promise though!!!  (I love this part 😉  To set our minds on the things of the spirit is life and PEACE that only God can give!  Thank you Jesus!

Peace?  Life & PEACE!?!?!  That is exactly what I was after, but how do I set my mind on the things of the spirit and get them off of my Idols?  Ephesians tells us as Christians to put off our old self, because it is corrupt through deceitful desires and be renewed in the spirit of our mind.  (Eph 4:22-23)

My prayer is that the Holy Spirit would do a great work in me in this area specifically.  That by hiding His living word in my heart, I might not sin against Him.  That He will renew my mind and that I will have an eternal perspective.  That even in the diaper changes, the training of my children, and the wading through over turned sippy cups I may do it ALL to Gods glory.  I think only then as I continue to repent and lay it down at His feet each moment of each day will I TRULY have life and the everlasting PEACE that I long for in my King.  I pray that I will be able to extend the love and true PEACE of Christ to my children and my family as Christ has done for me.  For my joy will not be found in my ideas idols of peace, coffee and dry socks but only in my Jesus and the infinite grace that He gives.

Blessings,

Janell

One thought on “Peace, Coffee & Dry Socks

Leave a Reply

